For Sailors
2014 MSA Awards
Photo Albums
< Home

2014 MSA Awards


AWARDS  2014


Sea Urchins - Henry Scharfe, Senior Instructors;  Tahoe Lillelund, Antonia Leggett, Junior Instructors

Sportsmanship - Lila Graves

Shipshape - Catherine Carroll

Most Improved - Rae Hanlon


Opti Beginner -  Rob Brown Senior Instructors, Juniors

Sportsmanship - Sylvia Marks

ShipShape - Aiden Harrison

Most Improved - Nate Gardner


Opti Intermediate Senior Instructor   Kyle Davis

Sportsmanship - Myles Welch

Shipshape - Isobel Glass

Most Improved - Ryan Noble


Opti Advanced - Rob Brown Senior Instructor

Sportsmanship - Andrew Blagden

Shipshape  -  Jack Wieman

Most Improved - Lorenzo Vinegas-villa


420 Beginner - Erin Snyder , Senior Instructors

Sportsmanship - Andrew Gubbins

Shipshape -  Owen Sims

Most Improved - Zach Galis


420 Intermediate -  Brady Winn, Amelia Milne

Sportsmanship - Sam Peterson

Shipshape - Pearce Crocker

Most Improved - Sarah Fleming


420 Advanced -  Brady Winn, Amelia Milne

Sportsmanship - Caroline Francoeur

Shipshape - Andrew Milne

Most Improved - Charlie Shaw


Opti Learn to Race - Kyle Davis Coach

Sportsmanship - Hayden Byrne

Coaches - Nikki Filias

Most Improved - Ryan Clark

Best Skipper - Ethan Ohara


Opti Race Team -  Connor Winn Coach

Sportsmanship - Alden Irose

Coach's - Hannah Freeman

Most Improved - Sarah Hearns

Best Skipper - Clayton Booma


420 Championship   -  Connor Winn Coach

Sportsmanship - Sarah Jacklin           

Best Skipper  -   Shane Macleod

Best Crew -   Gillian Winn

Most Improved - Rory Shaw

Coaches Award - Sarah Jacklin





Carl Magee Award - Hayden Byrne

Named for Manchester Yacht Club's manager of thirty years (1968-1998), this award, first presented in 1996, goes to the MSA sailor who most embodies the ideals of sportsmanship, including respect for officials, fellow competitors, and him or herself, and seamanship, including respect for his or her sailboat and the sea.


Everett Morss Award - Jennifer O'Neil

The Everett Morss Award was donated by the Morss family in 1972 in memory of Mr. Everett Morss. He was a fine sailor and a gentleman who was a good friend to all junior sailors in Manchester. This award is given each year to a boy or girl who demonstrates exemplary skill in the handling of small boats under all weather conditions. The winner's name will be inscribed on a brass plate on a model of a square-rigged ship, which will be displayed at the Sovereign Bank in Manchester.


Walt Tomkins - Katie Shinopoulus

Named for MSA's Program Director of thirteen years (1983-1995), this award, first presented in 1996, goes to the boy or girl who, through individual effort, was the most improved sailor in the Manchester Sailing Association.


David's Seamanship Award - Nico Rerisi & Molly McCarthy

This award is given in memory of David Siljeholm, who enjoyed Manchester Harbor most of his young life, until his death at age 14 in 2004. It will be awarded each year to two members of the Ensign, Skipper or Mariner classes who exhibit David's love of being on the water. The award includes tuition at a BOATWISE safe boating or basic navigation class.



© 2018 - Manchester Sailing Association     P.O. Box 172     Manchester, Massachusetts     01944