2013 Awards
< Home


Each year at the end-of-the-summer Cook-out and Awards Program, the MSA Instructors present awards in each class.

In addition, the following perpetual awards are presented:

Walt Tompkins Award 

Named for MSA's Program Director of thirteen years (1983-1995), this award, first presented in 1996, goes to the boy or girl who, through individual effort, was the most improved sailor in the Manchester Sailing Association.

Carl Magee Award

Named for Manchester Yacht Club's manager of thirty years (1968-1998), this award, first presented in 1996, goes to the MSA sailor who most embodies the ideals of sportsmanship, including respect for officials, fellow competitors, and him or herself, and seamanship, including respect for his or her sailboat and the sea.

Everett Morss Award

The Everett Morss Award was donated by the Morss family in 1972 in memory of Mr. Everett Morss. He was a fine sailor and a gentleman who was a good friend to all junior sailors in Manchester. This award is given each year to a boy or girl who demonstrates exemplary skill in the handling of small boats under all weather conditions. The winner's name will be inscribed on a brass plate on a model of a square-rigged ship, which will be displayed at the Sovereign Bank in Manchester.

David's Seamanship Award

This award is given in memory of David Siljeholm, who enjoyed Manchester Harbor most of his young life, until his death at age 14 in 2004. It will be awarded each year to two members of the Ensign, Skipper or Mariner classes who exhibit David's love of being on the water. The award includes tuition at a BOATWISE safe boating or basic navigation class.

© 2019 - Manchester Sailing Association     P.O. Box 172     Manchester, Massachusetts     01944